JO decides to go ahead with noconfidence motion on PM

The Joint Opposition (JO) has decided to go ahead with the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.The decision was taken when the party leaders in the joint opposition met today. Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa was among those who attended the meeting.The no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe was to be handed over to Parliament earlier but was postponed as a result of the violence in Kandy. (Colombo Gazette)

Seven seats available for BUSACSenate byelections Oct 2830

Seven seats are available for the Brock University Students Administrative Council/Senate byelections later this month.Campaigning will begin Oct. 20, and voting will take place from Oct. 28-30. Results will be announced Oct. 30 at 9:30 p.m.The Brock University Students’ Administrative Council (BUSAC) is a branch of the elected student government within BUSU.BUSAC is a faculty-based electoral body that governs over decisions such as bylaws, club funding, capital requests, political policies, elections, and has several committees across a number of spectrums that BUSU oversees.The Senate is responsible for the educational policy of the University, and with the approval of the Board in so far as expenditure of funds is concerned, may enact bylaws and regulations for the conduct of its affairs.Voting will be done online. Students will receive a ballot to their Brock email to vote for the five Senate positions, while students in the Faculties of Business and Social Sciences will receive an additional ballot to vote for their BUSAC representative.2014 BUSAC/Senate byelection candidates:Senate (1-year term): 2 seats available• Carlin Jessop• Jennifer Rubbra• Antonio SergiSenate (2-year term): 3 seats available• Spencer Dawson• Hanan Moussa• Sam Piccolo• Jeremy SteinhausenFaculty of Social Sciences: 1 seat available• Monique Blake• Megann Friesen• Ali Hammoud• Jad Nasser• Geraldine RiegerFaculty of Business: 1 seat available• Gavin Lutz• Deeksha Sharma• Someer VermaThe Senate currently consists of 67 members. This includes 36 elected full-time teaching staff and professional librarians, and two members of the Board of Trustees, six undergraduate and two graduate students, and one Alumni Association representative elected by their respective constituencies.For more information, email Chief Returning Officer Jimmy Norman. read more